Newsbriefs - Local Articles

An Introduction to Munay Ki by Frank Finochio

In our ever-evolving world, one thing remains constant: the need for human beings to help co-create a planet that lives in harmony. The Nine Rites of the Munay Ki helps us to do just that. The Munay Ki are nine rites of initiation passed on from the medicine people of the Americas. The rites help those initiated become agents for change.

When a person receives the rites and nurtures them, they join a group of others who are living from a place of love for all creation. Essentially, one becomes a steward for the earth—an ‘earthkeeper’— holding a vision for the healing of the planet and all its inhabitants through peace and love.

The Munay Ki helps to facilitate this state of being by clearing each initiate’s luminous energy field (LEF) from past traumas. Once this happens, the initiate’s vibrational frequency is raised and they are able to connect with protectors of the earth from the past, present and those yet to come.


Munay Ki means “I love
you” in Quechua, a
Native South American

The Rites

The first four rites are the foundation rites. They prepare one’s LEF for what is to come.

Rite One: Healers Rite—Helps one connect with their own personal healing journey and connect to the lineage of the ‘earthkeepers’.

Rite Two: Bands of Protection—Weaves five energetic bands representing earth, water, fire, wind and pure light into an initiate’s LEF. These bands act as filters for heavy or negative energy.

Rite Three: Seers Rite—Connects a person’s visual cortex to their third eye and heart. It helps them to perceive the invisible world.

Rite Four: Harmony Rite—Assists a person in shedding the past and helps to keep the LEF and chakras clear.

The next five rites allow an initiate to deepen their journey and their stewardship with the earth.

Rite Five: DayKeeper Rite—Connects to the ancient altars of the earth like Machu Picchu and those who tended to these power centers. It connects to the energy of the inner feminine.

Rite Six: Wisdomkeepers Rite—Connects to the high mountains where all the wisdom of the earth resides. The ice covered peaks around the world have been honored as places where humans step out of ordinary time and meet the divine. It connects to the energy of the inner masculine.

Rite Seven: Earthkeeper Rite—Connects the initiate to a lineage of archangels who are guardians. The rite helps one learn the way of the seer and to dream the world into being.

Rite Eight: Starkeeper Rite—Anchors one safely in the time to come after great change. The aging process can slow down and one can become resistant to diseases and allergies.

Rite Nine: Creator Rite—Awakens the light within. Initiates begin to acquire stewardship for all creation from the tiniest grain of sand to the largest cluster of galaxies.

Frank Finochio has a shamanic healing and yoga practice in Nyack. He is available for private and group sessions, as well as workshops. He can be reached at or 642- 3553.

Posted in: Local
Return to Previous Page

Leave a Reply